Stitch markers

I have found a new love. No, not someone to replace my husband. I have a new crafty love.
While laying in bed reading blogs I came across a post about stitch markers. I LOVE using stitch markers so I clicked on it and began reading about a girls need for stitch markers and her town without a yarn or craft store! “What’s a girl to do” one may ask…well this girl decided to make her own. Wait… What? She made her own? Yes, readers she made her own!! She used wire and bead and pliers and made her own!!
I was fascinated by this. I went and bought wire and beads and decided I too would make my own stitch markers. Well, that was an epic fail. Mine turned out terrible and they were heavy with the beads and the wire kept kinking up. I quickly scrapped those and went back to the drawing board.
I tried to find ways to make some like the ones I already had. I took a couple of my stitchmarkers with me to the craft store and walked around for hours until I found what looked liked all the parts to accomplish the act of making an actual usable marker. My efforts were not in vain! I got home and after a bit of trial and error I had figured out how to make stitch markers!! And I love it!
They are so easy and the perfect task to keep me busy while resting my hands from knitting. They put no strain on my joints so I can make them all day!! It has been great. I now sell them in my etsy shop and at a few local yarn stores in my area. How cool is that?
Here are a couple pics of the ones I have been working on today.

20140705-142945-52185350.jpg
The charm says “made with love”

20140705-143022-52222663.jpg
The set.

20140705-143047-52247438.jpg
I love the snakes!!

Right now they fit up to a size 13 needle but I am thinking of getting some smaller rings for socks and things like that.

In other news, I won needles!
A few months ago I entered a photo contest with Knitters Pride. After a few weeks of voting I came in second and won a Nova cubics deluxe interchangable set! The top 3 all got to choose a deluxe set. Mine finally came last week! I am so excited!!

20140705-143356-52436679.jpg

I also won a sample set just for being a finalist. (All the finalist won the set) I can’t wait to try out the Kabonz.

20140705-143447-52487747.jpg

That’s about all I have to chat about today. I am off to take a nap. I spent the day at the pool with my tiny humans and I am wore out!
Happy knitting!!!

2 thoughts on “Stitch markers

    1. The needles are AMAZING!! If it was possible to marry an inanimate object, I would marry these needles lol!!
      I am so glad you like them. I always get nervous when I send people stuff.

Leave a comment